In my previous post, I have mentioned about what keeps me (and my mind!) busy right now. Ira will be turning one year old in 4 months and we are thinking of the party we can possibly have for her.

So far, I already received around 12 proposals from different restaurants. I have underscored one or two that stands out but nothing final as of yet. I am looking for some more, I want something that offers more food, and which is more lenient with the decorations and doesn’t charge corkage for the extra food that we may bring in.

Today though, we are celebrating her 8th month birthday. As a monthly tradition, we have dinner at home every 15th of the month with family and a few friends (if some luckily passes by). Nothing fancy. Just pansit and a few viands and cake and/or ice cream. If it falls on a weekend, I make a dessert or a salad (which is often a try-out for me).

But since I have work today (whew!), I will just cook when I get home. But I already instructed Ate Kriselle to prepare everything so that I will just focus on the cooking part later. Tonight, we will be having the undying pansit bihon, stuffed bangus, bulalo, and lechon kawali. Mama Tess (MIL) will bring Ira’s cake and we will buy Ice Cream later. Oh, and I will be making cheese sticks too. We have to make use of all that cheese after Christmas. So pardon the menu, but they will be quite an unhealthy pack. I am still at the point of giving guilty food to the family.

Before I started with my post, I called up Ira and asked how she is doing. Ate said she was just munching on the phone’s cord. Haha. I talked to her and greeted her. Ate said she was just smiling. My baby is just completely adorable.

Yesterday, when her daddy was about to kiss her goodbye before we left for work, she held on to daddy’s clothes and stood up. She clung on to him that hubby was left with no choice but to carry her. We took her outside the gate until we left, and as we bade goodbye, she was just intently looking at us. Our hearts broke into tiny crumbs.

My dear Ira, continue to be the good girl that you are. Mommy and Daddy are doing everything for you. My heart is promising you that this will just be a temporary set-up. Someday, Mom and Dad can stay with you longer and we’ll have lots of time to giggle and roll on the floor. I miss you for every minute that I am not with you. I never knew happiness could be this real, until I had you. I always thought motherhood was overrated. But now I know that no words can express how special mothers and children are to each other. You made me realize that. You make me a better person everyday with my little blunders and with each lesson I learn from taking care of you. I know you will learn more, and I know you will be better than I ever was. And you will make Mommy proud, just by being who you are.

Thank you for making my each and everyday a lot happier, just by being my baby.

I love you so much Ira. Happy 8th months! Please don’t grow up so fast though, I am trying to savor each month. 🙂

my little one

7 months old ira with mommy, december 13, 2009

