I used to wonder what’s the big fuss about motherhood and the concomitant celebration of Mothers’ Day. I used to believe all the hype about motherhood is much too much sometimes. But when I became a mother myself, I realized all the fuss is not overkill. It can never be enough to explain or salute all the terrains of the greatest journey there is…motherhood.

Next week my baby will turn a year old. I have just been a mother for that short a period of time. But it is by far, the most fulfilling and greatest year of my life. I have learned things in my life that I may never have learned were it not for my being a mother.

Sometimes I think of the things I could have easily achieved if I was single, or something like that. But when I look at my husband and my precious little daughter, all answers yield to the fact that I have more than I could ever ask for in a lifetime.

While it is true that motherhood is a 24/7 job which you cannot take a leave from, which you cannot resign from, it is the best job in the world. Its compensation, albeit far from monetary,  is a million times more rewarding. The incessant hugs and kisses, the simple yet pure smiles, the contagious giggles and laughters, these and more, reward a mother in ways that no company can ever pay for.

This is the first mothers day where tons of people have greeted me. They felt much too special because I really feel happy being a mother. I will not deny that it gets tiring at times. I work throughout the day and go home to take care of my little one. My physical and mental capacities sometimes tire me out but they are just reflections of my human side for I will never grow tired of being the mother of my wonderful little princess. It is the best job that God has chosen for me. And I vow to do my best, for as long as I can, for my daughter.

I know there will be hard times in the future, but I know that they’re nothing compared to the beauty of being a mother. And when the going gets tough and my daughter breaks my heart, I will remind myself of that moment I first held her in my arms…surreal and perfect. Coz that’s what motherhood really is.

Best Mommy Moments with 3-Day-Old Ira

And to my own mother who has raised me to be who I am, thank you. You may not be able to read this, but I want to tell you that I appreciate you beyond your imperfections and misgivings. You have taught me things about motherhood and I will forever be grateful to you. I am sorry for the heartbreaks I caused you and I promise to be as strong as you if and when I encounter the same heartbreaks in the future. I promise to be the best daughter to you from this day forward for I understand now, more than ever, your travails and difficulties. Love you Ima and Happy Mothers’ Day to you.

@ Fontana for Ima's Bday

